Why I don’t advertise “Paleo” in public. I don’t want to be a douche…

So today I had a conversation with a nutrition major. It came up that I followed the “paleo” diet. I didn’t initiate the conversation; he had asked if I wanted pizza, and I said “No thanks. I try to stay away from breads.” He then gave a follow-up question, so I told him I’m “paleo”. I now regret using that trendy word, because it ends up classifying and alienating people from one another. I don’t want to be perceived as a douche, and I understand that this type of diet is not realistically affordable for many people. That is exactly why I don’t like telling people that I follow this lifestyle.

Anyway, he had a lot of questions for me, and I could tell that he was mildly upset with my dietary choices. I think part of that stems from the fact that most self-proclaimed “paleo” enthusiasts are pretentious douchebags, and by stating that I was “paleo” I ended up lumping myself in with that crowd. In the end, he didn’t get too upset because I didn’t hold a strong stance or opinion on the matter. Honestly, for me there are still a lot of unknowns with regard to nutrition. Maybe breads and rice and corn are good for you in moderation; I’m not going to tell anyone that they are bad. All I’d like is to experiment with different diets and see what works for my body, and the only way to know if something works is to adhere to it for a significant portion of time and determine whether my body responds well to the change in the long-run. I’m going to rap this up, because it’s 12:47AM and I need to go to lab tomorrow. I just wanted to say that I don’t want to be perceived as a douche, and I’ll no longer be using the word “paleo”… ever. I eat a non-grain, non-legume diet, and everyone else can eat whatever they want. If you want a slice of pizza or some chocolate-chip banana bread, you do you girl. Ima do me. To each his own.

That’s all for now. Have a good night.

-Captain Dave

P.S. THE PATS WON THE SUPERBOWL! Werrrrrrddd 😀

Leave a Reply

